How to choose the right wheelchair

For a variety of reasons, some people are unable to move around on their own. Their only means of transportation is a wheelchair. But in order to avoid discomfort, it is important to choose a wheelchair model that is not only functional, but also easy to use.

Getting into the details

When selecting a wheelchair, you need to pay attention to its technical characteristics: size, weight, width and depth of the seat, height of the backrest, features of the footrests and armrests. The set of necessary functions of the chair depends on the disease and preferences of the patient.

Materials of the body

The frame of the wheelchair is made of steel or aluminum. These materials are strong and durable. Steel structures are reliable and resistant to mechanical damage. Their only disadvantage is a large weight (on average - 18-20 kg). In contrast, aluminum strollers are lighter and more maneuverable. Such products will be suitable for people who move often and a lot.

Seat

In order for a person not to experience discomfort when boarding and driving a wheelchair, it is recommended to make preliminary measurements of the width of the seat, the length of the footrest, the height of the armrests and backrest. The wheelchair should not be cramped, but at the same time it should not be too loose.

Important! Between the side elements of the stroller and your feet should be a "margin" of 2-3 cm. In this "niche" should freely fit the hands - so their movements will not be restricted.

Another important parameter is the depth of the seat, because it determines the balance of a person's center of gravity. It is measured from buttocks (at back level) to the inner bend of the knee. It is necessary to subtract 5-7 cm from the received value. These measurements are taken to leave a small distance between the edge of the seat and the knee bend, so nothing pressed on the legs, preventing normal blood circulation. You should also consider the thickness of the cushion, which can significantly reduce the depth of the seat.

The height of the seat determines the distribution of pressure on the sciatic tuberosities. This parameter is defined as the sum of the shin height plus 5 cm. The resulting figure - the optimal parameter, which provides a comfortable position of a person in a wheelchair. At the same time you should not forget that too high a seat will interfere with the approach to the table.

The upholstery for wheelchairs is made of budget and practical fabrics, mostly polyester and nylon. Often, as an alternative, manufacturers use eco-leather, which is wear-resistant and not afraid of regular sanitation.

Footrests and armrests

Depending on the type of design and functionality, the footrests and armrests of wheelchairs are:

  • removable;
  • non-removable,
  • hinged.

It is more convenient when the armrests and footrests can be removed for independent transfers and transfers of the patient.

To avoid potential problems with posture and back in general, it is necessary to properly adjust the height of armrests. It is not difficult to measure it. To do this, determine the distance from the elbow to the seat and add 2.5 cm to the obtained value.

Also make sure that the footrests are at least 5 cm away from the floor surface. Otherwise the small wheels will cling to a person's feet, bringing him a tangible discomfort.

Backrest

The most comfortable height of the backrest is measured by subtracting 10 cm from the distance between the seat and the armpit. In order to avoid errors in the calculations, it is recommended to do them together with your doctor.

The backrest of the wheelchair may be standard and equipped with cervical restraints with side restraints. There are also models with long backrests with an adjustable angle of recline that can easily be adjusted to a lying position.

Wheels

These elements of the wheelchair are removable, which is very convenient if you need to quickly pass through a narrow doorway. We remind you that only the large wheels can be removed, the small ones remain. After overcoming a difficult area, all elements are installed back in place.

When choosing a wheelchair it is important to consider whether the patient or his caregiver will be able to cope with its operation (especially the size and weight).

Additional accessories

The wheelchair seat can be equipped with a removable anti-bedsore cushion. If necessary (as recommended by your doctor) it is easy to select and order separately.

If you have a medical condition or other individual disability, you should pay attention to the models of wheelchairs, the seats and backrests of which are equipped with elastic fixation straps with Velcro. These devices not only increase the safety level of the patient, but also make it more comfortable to move around the city.

Final recommendations

Choosing a wheelchair is a responsible mission, on which the comfort and convenience of a person deprived of the ability to move independently depend. In order to choose a model that fully meets the individual needs of the patient, we recommend using the help of a professional consultant or doctor.

Find out prices and detailed information
By clicking on the "Submit" button you agree to the processing of personal data.
Order a call

* Required fields to be filled in
By clicking on the "Submit" button you agree to the processing of personal data.
Checkout

* Required fields to be filled in
By clicking on the "Submit" button you agree to the processing of personal data.

Как правильно подобрать инвалидную коляску

По ряду причин некоторые люди лишены возможности передвигаться самостоятельно. Единственным средством перемещения для них является инвалидное кресло. Но для того, чтобы человек не испытывал дискомфорта, важно подобрать для него ту модель коляски, которая будет не только функциональной, но и удобной в эксплуатации.

Разбираемся в деталях

В процессе подбора инвалидной коляски необходимо обратить внимание на ее технические характеристики: габариты, вес, ширину и глубину сиденья, высоту спинки, особенности подножек и подлокотников. Набор необходимых функций кресла зависит от заболевания и предпочтений больного.

Материалы корпуса

Рама коляски изготавливается из стали или алюминия. Данные материалы прочны и долговечны. Стальные конструкции надежны и устойчивы к механическим повреждениям. Единственный их недостаток – большой вес (в среднем – 18-20 кг). В отличие от них, алюминиевые коляски более легкие и маневренные. Такие изделия подойдут людям, которые часто и много перемещаются.

Сиденье

Для того, чтобы человек не испытывал дискомфорта при посадке и управлении инвалидной коляской, рекомендуется предварительно сделать замеры ширины сиденья, длины подставки для ног, высоты подлокотников и спинки. В кресле не должно быть тесно, но в то же время не должно быть и слишком свободно.

Важно! Между боковыми элементами коляски и ногами должен оставаться «запас» в 2-3 см. В данной «нише» должны свободно помещаться руки – таким образом их движения не будут ограничены.

Не менее значимым параметром является глубина сиденья – именно от нее зависит баланс центра тяжести человека. Измеряется она от ягодиц (на уровне спины) до внутреннего сгиба колена. От полученной величины необходимо отнять 5-7 см. Данные замеры выполняются для того, чтобы между краем сиденья и коленным сгибом оставалось небольшое расстояние, и ничто не давило на ноги, препятствуя нормальной циркуляции крови. Также следует учитывать толщину подушки, которая может значительно уменьшить глубину сиденья.

От подъема сиденья зависит распределение давления на седалищные бугры. Этот параметр определяется как сумма высоты голени плюс 5 см. Полученная цифра – оптимальный параметр, обеспечивающий комфортное расположение человека в коляске. При этом не стоит забывать, что слишком высокое сиденье будет мешать подъезжать к столу.

Обивка сиденьев для инвалидных колясок изготавливается из бюджетных и практичных тканей, преимущественно полиэстера и нейлона. Нередко в качестве альтернативы производители используют экокожу, которая отличается износостойкостью и не боится регулярной санобработки.

Подножки и подлокотники

В зависимости от типа конструкции и функциональных особенностей, подножки и подлокотники инвалидных колясок бывают:

  • съемными;
  • несъемными,
  • откидными.

При самостоятельных перемещениях и пересаживаниях больного удобнее, когда подлокотники и подножки можно убрать.

Чтобы исключить потенциальные проблемы с осанкой и спиной в целом, необходимо грамотно отрегулировать высоту подлокотников. Измерить ее несложно. Для этого необходимо определить расстояние от локтя до сиденья и прибавить к полученному значению 2,5 см.

Также следует удостовериться, что относительно поверхности пола подножки находятся на расстоянии не менее 5 см. В противном случае маленькие колеса будут цеплять ноги человека, принося ему ощутимое неудобство.

Спинка

Наиболее комфортная высота спинки измеряется путем вычитания 10 см от расстояния между сиденьем и подмышечной впадиной. Во избежание погрешностей в расчетах выполнять их рекомендуется совместно с врачом.

Спинка коляски может быть стандартной и оборудованной фиксаторами шейного отдела с боковыми ограничителями. Также встречаются модели с удлиненными спинками с настраеваемым углом наклона, которые легко можно привести в лежачее положение.

Колеса

Данные элементы инвалидной коляски являются съемными, что очень удобно в случае, если требуется быстро проехать в узкий дверной проем. Напомним – убрать можно только большие колеса, маленькие остаются. После преодоления трудного участка все элементы устанавливаются обратно на свое место.

При подборе коляски необходимо учитывать, смогут ли справиться с ее обслуживанием (в частности – габаритами и весом) больной или его сопровождающий.

Дополнительные аксессуары

Сиденье инвалидной коляски может быть укомплектовано съемной противопролежневой подушкой. При необходимости (по рекомендации врача) ее несложно подобрать и заказать отдельно.

При сопутствующих заболеваниях или прочих индивидуальных особенностях инвалида стоит обратить внимание на модели колясок, сиденья и спинки которых оснащены эластичными фиксирующими ремнями на липучках. Данные приспособления не только повышают уровень безопасности больного, но и делают его передвижение по городу более комфортным.

Заключительные рекомендации

Выбор инвалидной коляски – ответственная миссия, от которой зависят удобство и комфорт человека, лишенного возможности передвигаться самостоятельно. Чтобы подобрать модель, полностью соответствующую индивидуальным потребностям больного, рекомендуем воспользоваться помощью профессионального консультанта или врача.

Узнать цены и подробную информацию
Нажимая на кнопку "ОТПРАВИТЬ" вы соглашаетесь на обработку персональных данных.
Заказать звонок

* Обязательные поля для заполнения
Нажимая на кнопку "ОТПРАВИТЬ" вы соглашаетесь на обработку персональных данных.
Оформить заказ

* Обязательные поля для заполнения
Нажимая на кнопку "ОТПРАВИТЬ" вы соглашаетесь на обработку персональных данных.